漫步加密貨幣多鏈未來

精華內容

以太坊的交易技術限制,引發區塊鏈領域,邁向多鏈並行發展的方向。包括 Fantom(FTM)、幣安智能鏈(BSC)、火幣生態鏈(HECO)、Near Protocol(NEAR)等不同區塊鏈,因為實現更快交易處理速度,成功在區塊鏈競爭當中突圍而出,吸引大量用戶使用、龐大資金進駐追捧。多個主流 DeFi 應用平台,都開始逐步將平台資產,轉移到以太坊以外的區塊鏈生態,讓廣大用戶可以有更多選擇。 

圖1:多鏈並行發展

目前,加密貨幣領域仍然缺乏合適的應用程式,讓用戶可以簡便管理,分佈在不同區塊鏈的加密貨幣資產。作為行業新發展方向,加密貨幣用戶將要了解、活用各種區塊鏈生態體系、不同規格代幣、以及技術系統架構。跨鏈資產轉移及交易 — 讓代幣可以經過「專門通道」,由一個生態體系(如以太坊)轉移到另一生態(如 Solana),將會成為發展關鍵。

 

此外,我們將會深入比較不同跨鏈連接技術的功能,總結出 跨鏈連接技術發展情況:

圖 2:Metamask 跨鏈技術

目前,支援多方向交易的跨鏈交易工具仍然有限,市場上的跨鏈交易工具,普遍集中用以太坊(Ethereum)為連接目標、或是進行交易結算的主要「基礎」鏈。而且,跨鏈連接技術相當各自為政 —每個區塊鏈生態,都各自有其連接以太坊的跨鏈系統。出現情況是:你想將代幣由 Polygon 鏈轉到 Fantom 鏈,往往要先將代幣由 Polygon 鏈轉到以太坊、然後由以太坊轉到 Fantom 鏈。這就是所謂以太坊作為結算基礎鏈。

不同區塊鏈生態的跨鏈連接技術:

Polygon 網絡(前稱 Matic)

Polygon 網絡當中有兩個主要跨鏈連接技術:分別採用權益抵押證明(PoS)、Plasma 側鏈,各有不同技術架構及安全功能。

圖 3:Polygon 跨鏈連接技術比較

以太坊 Gas 費用上升,於是自 2021 年 4 月初開始,DeFi 用戶出現大量遷移至 Polygon 的熱潮。Polygon 生態總鎖倉額,急升至近 80 億美元。

圖 4:Polygon 生態體系總鎖倉額(TVL,美元)

幣安智能鏈(BSC)

幣安智能鏈交易的 Gas 費遠低於以太坊,讓 BSC 由 2021 年初開始吸引大量用戶,熱門 DeFi 平台包括 Pancakeswap、Dodo 等。幣安智能鏈的用戶社群大增,讓 BSC 跨鏈連接通道,成為目前在由以太坊轉移代幣至 BSC 方面,使用量最高的連接通道技術。

圖 5:BSC 生態體系總鎖倉額(美元)

Solana (SOL)

將加密貨幣由以太坊的 ERC-20 規格代幣,轉換成 Solana 的 SPL 規格代幣;在 Solana 鏈上由 Certus One 推出 Wormhole,是首個雙向互通的去中心化跨鏈連接平台。

在 Wormhole 跨鏈連接方面,當中一大關鍵是 Guardians — 跨鏈適用的去中心化鏈外數據 Oracle。由一組網絡節點運作的鏈外數據 Oracle,主要負責核實過程中的代幣鎖倉及銷毀程序。

圖 6:Wormhole 跨鏈連接技術

NEAR 彩虹橋(NEAR)

NEAR Protocol 當中的 Rainbow Bridge「彩虹橋」連接技術,類似為 ERC-20 規格代幣進入 NEAR 區塊鏈建立專門通道。當中由 Prover (證明者)負責接收、核實及監察跨鏈轉換流程。

圖 7:NEAR 彩虹橋

撰寫文章時,NEAR 彩虹橋目前已經處理超過 300 萬美元等值的代幣,得到近 400 個用戶。在 NEAR 與以太坊之間最常用作跨鏈轉換的加密貨幣,自然是 NEAR 代幣。 

圖 8:NEAR 彩虹橋總鎖倉額(美元)

以上是目前主要的跨鏈連接技術平台。當然市場上尚有大量不同功能與安全性的跨鏈連接技術。以下簡要介紹五類其他跨鏈連接技術。

圖 9:各類跨鏈連接技術發展

L1 鏈 <> L2 鏈

支援 EVM 區塊鏈 <> 支援 EVM 區塊鏈

非 EVM 兼容鏈 --> 支援 EVM 區塊鏈

多方向互通跨鏈

總結

加密貨幣廣大用戶,陸續開始習慣將資產進行跨鏈轉移,但我們相信,以太坊仍將是區塊鏈領域最多用戶使用的的主要 Layer-1 DeFi 生態體系。其他區塊鏈將會透過建立獨特使用功能與體驗、迎合特定行業及用途的需求,從而作為以太坊的「補充」。

隨着區塊鏈真正邁向跨鏈並行的方向發展,我們相信市場上會出現覆蓋多鏈多功能的一站式跨鏈連接技術,讓廣大 DeFi 用戶可以最方便快捷地,將加密貨幣在不同區塊鏈生態之間跨鏈轉移。感謝瀏覽 《漫步加密貨幣多鏈未來》,內容由 0xminion.eth, 0xProductGal 0xLight. 撰寫。歡迎關注他們的 Twitter 賬戶留意最新分析!

Scroll to top
zh_HKChinese (Hong Kong)

Navigating the chaotic world of the multichain universe

Introduction

In this article, we discuss navigating the chaotic world of the multichain universe. Due to the transaction limitations in the Ethereum world, ecosystems in the multichain universe such as Fantom (FTM), Binance Smart Chain (BSC), Huobi Eco Chain (HECO), Near Protocol (NEAR), etc have quickly gained popularity in the industry in order to achieve scalability. We have seen some major DeFi protocols in the process of deploying and shifting some of their liquidity to alternative ecosystems in order to offer additional choices to the crypto community. 

Figure 1: The Multichain Universe

There is a lack of tools to easily manage crypto portfolios in the multichain universe. Users interact with various ecosystems, token standards, and technical structures. Moreover, a cross-chain swap is necessary to move tokens from one ecosystem (i.e. Ethereum) to an alternative ecosystem (i.e. Solana) via a bridge.

 

As part of this analysis, we will delve into different cross-chain bridges to shed light on the current market solutions:

Figure 2: Metamask Multichain Universe

Multi-directional cross-chain swap solutions are still limited, existing solutions leverage Ethereum as the settlement layer. The current bridging solutions are fragmented in a way that each ecosystem has its own natively supported cross-chain bridge solution with Ethereum. For example, when a user swaps tokens from Polygon to Fantom, he/she needs to bridge the tokens on Polygon to Ethereum, and Ethereum to Fantom, leveraging Ethereum as the settlement layer.

Bridging solutions existing in the following ecosystems:

Polygon (Matic)

There are two main bridge solutions (PoS vs Plasma) in the Polygon ecosystem that differs based on their structure and security features.

Figure 3: Polygon Bridges Comparison

Due to the expensive Ethereum gas fee, many DeFi users have shifted to the Polygon ecosystem in early April 2021, with a total of nearly $8 billion locked in the ecosystem at its peak.

Figure 4: Total Value Locked (USD) in Polygon ecosystem

Binance Smart Chain (BSC)

The BSC ecosystem gained significant market traction in early 2021 from adoption in key projects such as Pancakeswap and Dodo due to lower transaction costs. The rapid growth in the BSC community resulted in Binance Smart Chain Bridge becoming the most adopted bridge to migrate tokens from Ethereum to BSC.

Figure 5: Total Value Locked (USD) in BSC ecosystem

Solana (SOL)

The Wormhole project by Certus One is the first bidirectional decentralized ERC-20 to SPL token bridge between Ethereum and Solana.

One of the most important elements in the bridge is called “guardians” which are decentralized cross-chain oracles utilized by a set of node operators to certify token lockups and burns

Figure 6: Wormhole Bridge

NEAR Rainbow Bridge (NEAR)

NEAR rainbow bridge opens the gate for ERC20 tokens to flow into the NEAR ecosystem. So the “prover” listens and validates a specific event on a monitored chain to enable cross-chain communication.

Figure 7: NEAR Rainbow Bridge

At the time of writing the piece, NEAR rainbow bridge has more than USD 3mn worth of tokens from nearly 400 unique users. The NEAR token has been the largest bridged token between the NEAR and Ethereum ecosystem. 

Figure 8: Total Value Locked in NEAR Rainbow Bridge

We have provided a brief overview of some of the key bridges on the market. Many additional bridges offer different technical flexibility and security to the ones that we mentioned above. Moreover, we have summarized these in the below section. Generally speaking, there are mainly five categories of bridges:

Figure 9: Bridges in the Multichain Universe

L1- L2

EVM - EVM

Non-EVM to EVM

Multidirectional Bridges

Final thoughts

As users continue to interact with multiple blockchains, we believe Ethereum will remain the industry’s dominant Layer 1 DeFi ecosystem. So alternative ecosystems will complement the Ethereum ecosystem by creating a specialized user experience to target specific sectors or use cases.

To achieve a multichain universe, we envision a one-stop bridging tool to emerge that enables DeFi users to easily migrate tokens across multiple ecosystems with minimal steps. Thanks for reading Navigating the chaotic world of the multichain universe. Written by 0xminion.eth, 0xProductGal, and 0xLight. So if you found this content helpful be sure to follow them!

Scroll to top
en_USEnglish